Pumpkin and Cranberry Stew in the Crock Pot

img_7745I had some stew meat and couldn’t find any recipes that looked good to me, so I made this one up. I have tried it with different meat and pumpkins. You can use any kind of pumpkin in this recipe, but a sugar or pie pumpkin is going to be the perfect size. If you get a larger pumpkin, then double the rest of the recipe, except for the vinegar. This recipe is easy! I recently wrote a blog post on how to peel and cut a pumpkin that I’ll link you to by clicking on the words “peel and cut” in the ingredients list. I like to get everything ready the night before and let it sit in the fridge over night. That way my husband can just start the crock pot when he gets up in the morning.

 

INGREDIENTS:

1 pounds stew meat ( beef, venison or lamb- it’s fun to mix two types of meat)

1 pumpkin, peel and cubed

1 cup of cranberries, fresh or frozen

4 cups bone broth

1 TB fresh sage, minced

2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

4 cups of baby spinach

METHOD:

Add all ingredients to the Crock Pot except for the spinach.

Cook on low for 7-9 hours.

Turn off heat, add spinach, stir and taste to see if its seasoned the way you like it. Add more salt and pepper if desired.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Pumpkin and Cranberry Stew in the Crock Pot

Leave a comment