Mashed Turnips and Parsnips

IMG_7792I wrote a recipe for Mashed Parsnips and Pumpkin when I first started my blog. It’s a good recipe, but this one is better. The first time that a made this for a group, my dad said, “These potatoes are really good!”. When I told him that they weren’t potatoes, He was impressed. My sister made them the following weekend for a party she gave.

Lately, I’ve found a new love for gravy, so I needed a fabulous mashed potatoes substitute. I developed this recipe and refined it over the past several weeks.IMG_7790It’s great with gravy and it’s delicious alone. I have an option where you can add ginger if you are serving it with something that works with ginger. I use that option for a Korean Short Ribs recipe, and I used it last night to go with Ahi Tuna with Ponzu sauce.

I use Coconut Kefir in this recipe. Coconut Kefir was one of the first recipes that I wrote for this blog. It’s a main staple in my diet. Because of the high fat level in coconut milk, it’s more of a yogurt consistency than kefir. If you don’t want to start making your own kefir, you can use coconut milk that you have thickened in the fridge. But I highly recommend making your own kefir. It takes less than 5 minutes a day.

This recipe calls for a steamer. If you don’t have one, you may boil the veggies until tender. I love my steamer. I have been cooking with one for 20 years. They are cheap and they make life so much easier. I use mine every week for this recipe, broccoli, and asparagus.

Serves 4-6

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/2 pound Turnips

1 1/2 pound Parsnips

3 TBSP Avocado or Coconut Oil

5 cloves Garlic, minced

1/2 tsp Salt

1 TBSP Chives, minced

METHOD:

Peel and cubed the turnips and parsnips. Place them in the steamer. Steam them for 45 minutes. IMG_7794

Meanwhile sautée garlic in oil over medium heat in small saucepan for 2-3 minutes until it browns slightly.

Pour the garlic oil in a large bowl with the kefir.IMG_7793

When the veggies are done in the steamer, pour them into the bowl. Mash with potato masher or electric mixer for smoother consistency. Stir in chives and salt. Enjoy!

IMG_7791

GINGER OPTION:

If your serving a meal that works well with ginger, add a tablespoon of minced ginger to sautée along with your garlic.

 

3 thoughts on “Mashed Turnips and Parsnips

Leave a Reply

