Strawberry Umami Ketchup

Ketchup was something I was obsessed with most of my life. When I went on AIP, it was one of the most missed foods (that and peanut butter- it’s weird what you miss). So I have experimented with substitutes. I have used beets, cranberries, carrot, peaches, raspberries and blueberries to make ketchups. My long time favorite is Strawberry Umami Ketchup. This ketchups uses tamarind and molasses that gives it a depth that I haven’t had since I stopped eating nightshades. This is the perfect ketchup for the Nightshade Free Cocktail Sauce Recipe.

INGREDIENTS:

2 cups strawberries, stemmed and quartered, fresh or frozen

1 clove of garlic, minced

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1 tsp salt

3 tsp tamarind concentrate

2 tsp molasses

METHOD:

Place strawberries, vinegar, garlic and salt in a small pot with the lid cracked. Bring to a boil over medium high. Reduce to a simmer. Mash and turn them with a potato masher. Cover with the lid cracked open, stirring occasionally until the strawberrIes are breaking down about 10 minutes. Add the tamarind and molasses and mash the strawberries up well with the potato masher. Reduce another 5 minutes with the lid off. Remove it from the heat. Once cooled purée with an immersion blender until smooth or blend in a blender until smooth. You can store it in the fridge for a week or so. To keep longer, freeze it. I freeze my ketchup in an ice cube tray and thaw a few when I am having fries or hash.

5 thoughts on “Strawberry Umami Ketchup

Leave a comment